Tags

, ,

So, a lot has happened since I last checked in here. A whole lot. A baby has happened. He was born October 20 and is the most beautiful thing the world has ever seen. I now know that they are not kidding when they say that caring for an infant takes almost all of your time. It’s exhausting and exhilarating and challenging and awesome and also a bit boring at times. And the most enjoyable thing you’ll ever do, too. At least if your baby is half as gorgeous and awesome and funny and cute and breathtaking as mine.

Anyway. It’s almost Christmas! For once in my life I’ve already started buying Christmas presents but to be honest I’ve also spent a great deal of time daydreaming about my little wishlist. These are a few of the things I would love to find under the tree this year.

kronkron

These tights by Kronkron. So, so pretty. They have a great selection.

Kristjana hönnun - hárband

A hair piece by Kristjana, available in Reykjavik and Berlin. Actually, I’d quite like to be wearing this come Christmas Eve.

The Case of Mr. Pelham

A kitty constellation iPhone case by The Case of Mr. Pelham on Etsy.

Seafoam Cream & Purple Striped Painted Antler by MadeByCassandraSmith

Seafoam, Cream and Purple Striped Painted Antler by MadeByCassandraSmith on Etsy. I love her work!

woodwood1

Wood wood leather laptop case. Infinitely nicer than the synthetic crap I currently own.

gold dipped triangle studs

Gold-dipped triangle studs from PetiteCo on Etsy. Her shop has lots of other nice things too.

Ísbirnir ´70

This photo of two polar bears (what, hugging? Fighting? Dancing?) by Mats Wibe Lund, taken in the now defunct aquarium in Hafnarfjörður in 1970. It was part of an exhibition of his work at the Reykjavík Museum of Photography this fall and I completely fell for it. Please come hang out on my wall?

mandla1

As ever, L’Occitane’s Almond Milk Concentrate is on my wishlist. It is the best moisturizer I’ve ever tried. Silky doesn’t even begin to describe it. It’s like… a sweet-smelling cloud in a jar. No joke.

walker

These boots from Shoe The Bear. Aren’t they great? Apart from being beautiful, they look really comfy and would definitely keep my toes warm for winters to come. I just can’t decide if I like the black or brown ones better…

kindle

A Kindle. So, I haven’t really been the biggest spokesperson for e-books and the sort. I love books. Real books; their weight, the way they smell, the crumbles and coffee stains on the pages of my favorites… An e-book, in my humble opinion, must always be  lacking in the character department. But. Yes, but. Now I’m up for maybe 2 hours every night, doing this breastfeeding thing. Which is exhausting, but that’s not the issue here. I think I would quite like being able to read during these dark and quiet hours. As is, I’m either staring into space or playing some silly game on my phone. I don’t want to turn on the light, as I’m trying to teach the little one that the night is dark and boring and there’s really nothing for him to do but sleep. I’m thinking a Kindle would be a perfect solution? Yes?

Allright then. I think that’s enough. I keep finding awesome, gorgeous stuff that I’m tempted to add to this list, but I’m starting to come off as greedy and obnoxious and I don’t want that. I shall now go covet beautiful things in silence.

