Tags

, , , ,

I’m so looking forward to Easter! Believe it or not, it is not solely because of all the good food and chocolate I’ll be allowed to consume (not that I don’t consume said chocolate even when I’m not allowed, but during Easter I don’t have to feel too bad about it… Anyone else like me out there?), but because of the annual music festical Aldrei fór ég suður, which will be held in Ísafjörður for the ninth time this Easter.

It features lots and lots of Icelandic artists, beginners and veterans, bands every Icelander knows as well as local singer/songwriters from the West Fjords. Each artist gets only fifteen minutes to perform. Admission is free and the artists all donate their work. The festival is attended by lots and lots of people, locals mix with people flying in from Reykjavík or other parts of the country and the ages range from still-in-the-womb to 90+. It’s an amazing experience and I can’t wait for Friday night, when it all begins!

There’s plenty of good Icelandic music and artists. I thought I’d share two videos from artists I like: Ólöf Arnalds covering Mr. Tambourine man with her sister Klara (I happen to be acquainted with both of them and they really are the nicest people!), and Snorri Helgason (who will perform at AFÉS) singing his beautiful Mockingbird with Mr. Silla. Do you like them?

ps. Wish me luck with my third go on that televised game show thing. We keep winning so we keep going back. And I started out not really caring about the competition at all, but now I really want to win! So please, fingers crossed?

