Tags

, , , ,

This is one of the reasons I love staying at my mom’s house in Sweden. Him pressing his cold nose against my cheek is probably the nicest way to wake up. Here’s another reason:

A third good reason is the fact that my mom is here, of course, and I’m so happy to be able to spend some time with her. It’s a bit difficult, this living-in-different-countries thing.

Friday was good but just a tiny but stressful. We won again, though, so that was fun. We’ll next compete in either February or March. I’m hoping it’s March, so I can be a part of it. It’s so much fun, even though I’m almost paralyzed by fear just before we go on air. That’s what I like about it – it’s such a challenge. You never feel better (or at least I don’t) than after doing something you’re a bit afraid to do.

When the high wore off, I was exhausted. I just managed to feed myself, pack the remainder of my things and crash on my friend’s couch for five hours, before the alarm went off and I had to get to the airport. So my first day in Sweden was a bit hazy; I was so, so tired. After eleven hours of sleep, and waking up to the cuties in the pictures above, I am now so much better.

My Sunday has been spent doing a tiny bit of work, gazing at the fireplace, drinking huge cups of tea and a compiling a Christmas wish list – just because it’s fun. We’ve told everyone that we’ll neither be giving nor accepting Christmas gifts this year. It doesn’t make much sense to haul everything to India, around India and then back again. Neither does it feel right to run around, stressing about getting everyone something, just something, to leave behind when we won’t even be there. I love Christmas as much as I love birthdays, if not more, but it feels like it’s gotten a bit out of control. You shouldn’t feel that you absolutely have to get everyone gifts, that otherwise you’re a selfish, bad person. A gift is not the purest form of love, actually.

So – I’ll do a little post tomorrow about what I’d like to find under my tree this Christmas – if I had a tree. Or were accepting gifts. In the meantime, have an enjoyable Sunday – or what remains of it. After writing the last sentence of the paragraph above, I now feel inclined to curl up on the couch and watch the film of the same name. There are worse ways to spend an evening!

