Tags

, , ,

“Antisthenes says that in a certain faraway land the cold is so intense that words freeze as soon as they are uttered, and after some time then thaw and become audible, so that words spoken in winter go unheard until the next summer.” ~Plutarch

It snowed today. The first snow I see fall this winter. Large white flakes, falling quietly to the ground. It was, as always, beautifully serene. It made me both happy and a little bit sad that I’ll be sitting this Icelandic winter out in a faraway, much warmer land where nothing stays white for long. Although the dark and the cold (and the dark, again) can drain me of all energy, an Icelandic winter also holds a certain charm. And I just realised that I’ll miss it. Lit candles, two pairs of woollen socks, tea, bread fresh from the oven, playing cards for hours on end, Irish coffee, the stars, cheeks and nose turning red from the cold. And the northern lights.

The northern lights really are as beautiful as people say. I still run out to watch them whenever they appear, gazing at the swirling sky until my neck hurts, mesmerized by the green and sometimes pink and even purple. So, I found this video, by Flatlight Films, to comfort me. It is gorgeous. Hope you enjoy it.

Watch it on Vimeo here.

