Tags

, , ,

I’m constantly on the hunt for good TV series to watch. Lately, I’ve even preferred them to movies. When I like something I just don’t want it to end. And movies do, so much sooner than TV series. I have a varied taste, I guess; I’ve watched and enjoyed everything from Cougar Town to The Wire (which is probably the best written series ever – I love good writing!). And I adore Mad Men, which is so aesthetically pleasing that it makes my toes tingle.

I watched the late news last night and absent-mindedly kept one eye on the television while I turned to my computer. The only channel we get here is the National Icelandic one, and, sorry to say, that one doesn’t really have a reputation of being very up-to-date or attuned to what’s best in television every given season. Last night was a lucky exception, I believe. They just started airing a new BBC mini-series called The Hour.

The Hour is set in London in the fifties. Friends Bel Rowley (Romola Garai) and Freddie Lyon (Ben Whishaw) work for the BBC. They get their big chance when they are recruited to work on a new weekly news program, namely, The Hour. Dominic West (The Wire!) plays Hector Madden, the face of the new show. Then, the murder of a prominent academic is covered up by authorities, Freddie’s childhood friend dies under rather mysterious circumstances and the plot thickens…

I can’t wait to see more! I really like the look of the series. Unsurprisingly, really, as I have always had a weak spot for dashing British men in trenchcoats. Being a journalist, I’m fascinated with the work environment depicted in the series and look forward to seeing how Bel manages in a male-dominated environment and rather misogynistic society in general. I feel some girl power moments coming up!

Doesn’t it look good? Would you watch it?

