Tags

, , ,

This is what the sleepy little town of Flateyri looks like these days. The seasons are turning. It was so windy this past weekend that our old, wooden house shook, rattled and almost rolled during the worst of it. I quite like it though. Autumn has always been my favorite season. What’s not to like? You get to cuddle up, wear all the lovely fall colors (mustard must be the color of my soul, I love it so!), drink hot chocolate and red wine and play scrabble at night, go for walks during the day and return home with cold cheeks and a ruined hairdo… Ah. And of course, school starts again.

I’m one of the people you probably didn’t like when you were young – the one who enjoyed school. This year, like last year, I’m not studying anything – and I miss it! I miss the smell of new wooden pencils and erasers and the surge of energy you get as you dive into a new subject. I even miss assignments that leave you exhausted after many sleepless nights. I miss the sense of accomplishment once you’ve finally finished and turned it in, and the suspense of waiting for your grade. Oh well, I’ll just have to go back to school soon. You can never have too many degrees, right?

I have to share this video that I re-discovered this morning. I watched it obsessively back in February, when it was freezing cold and the world seemed to consist of nothing but snow. Lykke Li and Bon Iver singing and dancing together kept me alive back then, and although I’m happy that fall is here I definitely wouldn’t mind standing on that street corner in LA with those unbelieveably talented artists right about now…

